Grove Press is a hardcover and paperback imprint of Grove Atlantic, Inc. Grove Press was founded on Grove Street in New York’s Greenwich Village in 1947. But its true beginning came in 1951 when twenty-eight-year-old Barney Rossett, Jr. bought the company and turned it into one of the most influential publishers of the 1950s, 60s, and 70s. From the outset, Rossett took chances: Grove published many of the Beats including William S. Burroughs, Jack Kerouac, and Allen Ginsberg. In addition, Grove Press became the preeminent publisher of twentieth-century drama in America, publishing the work of Samuel Beckett (Nobel Prize for Literature 1969), Bertold Brecht, Eugene Ionesco, David Mamet (Pulitzer Prize for Drama 1984), Harold Pinter (Nobel Prize for Literature 2005), Tom Stoppard, and many more. The press also introduced to American audiences the work of international authors such as Jorge Luis Borges, Mikhail Bulgakov, Marguerite Duras, Jean Genet, Pablo Neruda, Octavio Paz (Nobel Prize for Literature 1990), Kenzaburo Oe (Nobel Prize for Literature 1994), Elfriede Jelinek (Nobel Prize for Literature 2004), Alain Robbe-Grillet, and Juan Rulfo. In the late 1950s and early 1960s, Barney Rossett challenged the obscenity laws by publishing D. H. Lawrence’s Lady Chatterley’s Lover and then Henry Miller’s Tropic of Cancer. His landmark court victories changed the American cultural landscape. Grove Press went on to publish literary erotic classics like The Story of O and ground-breaking gay fiction like John Rechy’s City of Night, as well as the works of the Marquis de Sade. On the political front, Grove Press published classics that include Franz Fanon’s The Wretched of the Earth, The Autobiography of Malcolm X, and Che Guevara’s The Bolivian Diary, among many other titles. In 1986, Barney Rosset sold the company and the press became part of Grove Weidenfeld. In 1993 that company was merged with Atlantic Monthly Press to form Grove Atlantic, Inc.

Since 1993, Grove Press has been both a hardcover and paperback imprint of Grove Atlantic publishing fiction, drama, poetry, literature in translation, and general nonfiction. Authors and titles include Jon Lee Anderson’s Che Guevara: A Revolutionary Life, Robert Olen Butler’s A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain (Pulitzer Prize for Literature 1993), Kiran Desai’s Inheritance of Loss (Man Booker Prize 2006), Richard Flanagan’s Gould’s Book of Fish (Commonwealth Prize 2002), Ismail Kadare’s The Siege, Jerzy Kosinski’s Steps (National Book Award 1969), Jacqueline Susann’s Valley of the Dolls, Nick McDonell’s Twelve, Catherine Millet’s The Sexual Life of Catherine M., Pascal Mercier’s Night Train to Lisbon, Kay Ryan (Poet Laureate of the United States 2008/9) as well as Antonio Lobo Antunes, Will Self, Barry Hannah, Terry Southern, and many others.

Home
Ordering
Media / Review Copy
Author Tours
Catalogs
Booksellers
Reading Group Guides
Teachers / Desk Copy
Rights & Permissions
Contact Us
Barry Hannah Long, Last, Happy
Long, Last, Happy

“Barry Hannah is the best fiction writer to appear in the South since Flannery O’Connor.”
Larry Mcmurtry

“Barry Hannah is an original, and one of the most consistently exciting writers of the post-Faulkner generation.”
William Styron, Salon

Click here for more on Barry Hannah and Long, Last, Happy
Forty Thieves by Thomas Perry
Matterhorn by Karl Marlantes
 
Description 
Praise 
Excerpt 
Author 
Biography 
Awards 
Google Book Preview
Buy This Book
Allan Lichtman’s new book breaks important ground. Based on an extraordinary range of archival sources, he reminds us that conservatism is not the recent product of Ronald Reagan or Karl Rove, but is deeply embedded in more than a century of American politics and culture.” —Robert Griffith, author of The Politics of Fear: Joseph R. McCarthy and the Senate
White Protestant Nation
The Rise of the American Conservative Movement
By Allan J. Lichtman
Grove Press
978-0-8021-4420-1 • $18.95 • Paperback • May 2009
Political Science
Spanning nearly one hundred years of American political history, and abounding with outsize characters—from Lindbergh to Goldwater to Gingrich to Abramoff—White Protestant Nation offers a penetrating look at the origins, evolution, and triumph (at times) of modern conservatism.

In the long-awaited new book from the author of The Keys to the White House—which The Baltimore Sun called “a must book for political junkies” and which remains influential after more than fifteen years in print—Allan J. Lichtman has produced a deft and wide-ranging examination of the rise of conservatism in America from the end of World War I to today.

Lichtman is both a professor of political history at American University and a veteran journalist, and after ten years of prodigious research, he has produced what may be the definitive history of the modern conservative movement in America. He has combed through nearly one hundred manuscript collections— he has the confidential memos of Billy Graham, Dick Armey, and many others; the internal strategy papers of the big foundations; the secret correspondence between William F. Buckley Jr. and the Franco regime; and much more—to capture the entire tapestry and trajectory of the conservative movement.

He brings to life a gallery of dynamic right-wing personalities, from luminaries such as Strom Thurmond, Phyllis Schlafly, and Bill Kristol to indispensable inside operators like financiers Frank Gannett and J. Howard Pew. He explodes the conventional wisdom that modern conservative politics began with Goldwater and instead traces the roots of today’s movement to the 1920s. He shows how modern conservatism was born out of post–World War I fears that secular, pluralistic, and cosmopolitan forces threatened America’s national identity. And he lays bare the tactics that conservatives have used for generations to put their slant on policy and culture; to choke the growth of the liberal state; and to build the most powerful media, fundraising, and intellectual network in the history of representative government.

Perfect for readers of Thomas Frank, Kevin Phillips, and John Dean, and a natural counterpart to The Good Fight, Peter Beinart’s recent book on liberalism, White Protestant Nation is entertaining, provocative, enlightening, and essential reading for anyone who cares about modern American politics and its history.
<June 2017>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
28



29



30



31

Charmaine Craig
Miss Burma

7:00 PM-8:00 PM: ELLIOTT BAY BOOK COMPANY
1521 Tenth Ave
Seattle, WA


1

Charmaine Craig
Miss Burma

7:00 PM-8:00 PM: BOOK PASSAGE
51 Tamal Vista Blvd.
Corte Madera, CA


2

Charmaine Craig
Miss Burma

6:00 PM: BOOKS, INC.
1375 Burlingame Ave
Burlingame, CA


3



4

Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

BAY AREA BOOK FEST
1569 Solano Ave #635
Berkeley, CA


Charmaine Craig
Miss Burma

3:30 PM-5:00 PM: KANSAS CITY PUBLIC LIBRARY
South Branch Library
3104 Strong Avenue
Kansas City, KS


Olivia Clare
Disasters in the First World

6:00 PM: BRAZOS BOOKSTORE
2421 Bissonnet
Houston, TX


5

Charmaine Craig
Miss Burma

12:30 PM-01:30 PM: UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA ST. PAUL
1404 Gortner Avenue
Peters Hall, Room 5
St. Paul, MN


6

Charmaine Craig
Miss Burma

7:00 PM: COMMON GOOD BOOKS
38 S. Snelling Avenue
St. Paul, MN


Mark Bowden
Hue 1968

07:00 PM: BARNES & NOBLE
Union Square
33 East 17th Street
New York City


7



8

Bella Pollen
Meet Me in the In-Between

06:30 PM: EAST CITY BOOKSHOP
645 Pennsylvania Ave SE #100
Washington, DC


9



10

Mark Bowden
Hue 1968

01:00 PM-02:30 PM: PRINTERS ROW FESTIVAL
Chicago, IL


11



12



13

Tim Murphy
Christodora

7:30 PM: WORD BOOKSTORES
Jersey City Location
123 Newark Ave
Jersey City, NJ


14

Olivia Clare
Disasters in the First World

6:00 PM: OCTAVIA BOOKS
513 Octavia Street
New Orleans, LA


15

Olivia Clare
Disasters in the First World

7:30 PM: RIVER WRITERS
The Parlor
705 St Joseph St
Baton Rouge, LA


16

Olivia Clare
Disasters in the First World

7:00 PM: BARNES AND NOBLE
CitiPlace Court Location
2590 CitiPlace Court
Baton Rouge, LA


Bella Pollen
Meet Me in the In-Between

06:00 PM: COLLECTED WORKS BOOKSTORE
202 Galisteo St. #A
Santa Fe, NM


17



18



19



20

Anna Noyes
Goodnight, Beautiful Women

07:00 PM: EARFULL READING SERIES
Branch Line Restaurant
321 Arsenal Street
Watertown, MA


21



22



23



24



25



26



27

Tim Murphy
Christodora

07:00 PM-8:00 PM: LUCKY BAR
168 Avenue B
New York, NY


28



29



30



1



2



3



4



5



6



7



8



Go
Webmaster: Michael Dudding
Graphic Design: Gretchen Mergenthaler
Development & Programming: Peter Grand, Inc.