Grove Press is a hardcover and paperback imprint of Grove Atlantic, Inc. Grove Press was founded on Grove Street in New York’s Greenwich Village in 1947. But its true beginning came in 1951 when twenty-eight-year-old Barney Rossett, Jr. bought the company and turned it into one of the most influential publishers of the 1950s, 60s, and 70s. From the outset, Rossett took chances: Grove published many of the Beats including William S. Burroughs, Jack Kerouac, and Allen Ginsberg. In addition, Grove Press became the preeminent publisher of twentieth-century drama in America, publishing the work of Samuel Beckett (Nobel Prize for Literature 1969), Bertold Brecht, Eugene Ionesco, David Mamet (Pulitzer Prize for Drama 1984), Harold Pinter (Nobel Prize for Literature 2005), Tom Stoppard, and many more. The press also introduced to American audiences the work of international authors such as Jorge Luis Borges, Mikhail Bulgakov, Marguerite Duras, Jean Genet, Pablo Neruda, Octavio Paz (Nobel Prize for Literature 1990), Kenzaburo Oe (Nobel Prize for Literature 1994), Elfriede Jelinek (Nobel Prize for Literature 2004), Alain Robbe-Grillet, and Juan Rulfo. In the late 1950s and early 1960s, Barney Rossett challenged the obscenity laws by publishing D. H. Lawrence’s Lady Chatterley’s Lover and then Henry Miller’s Tropic of Cancer. His landmark court victories changed the American cultural landscape. Grove Press went on to publish literary erotic classics like The Story of O and ground-breaking gay fiction like John Rechy’s City of Night, as well as the works of the Marquis de Sade. On the political front, Grove Press published classics that include Franz Fanon’s The Wretched of the Earth, The Autobiography of Malcolm X, and Che Guevara’s The Bolivian Diary, among many other titles. In 1986, Barney Rosset sold the company and the press became part of Grove Weidenfeld. In 1993 that company was merged with Atlantic Monthly Press to form Grove Atlantic, Inc.

Since 1993, Grove Press has been both a hardcover and paperback imprint of Grove Atlantic publishing fiction, drama, poetry, literature in translation, and general nonfiction. Authors and titles include Jon Lee Anderson’s Che Guevara: A Revolutionary Life, Robert Olen Butler’s A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain (Pulitzer Prize for Literature 1993), Kiran Desai’s Inheritance of Loss (Man Booker Prize 2006), Richard Flanagan’s Gould’s Book of Fish (Commonwealth Prize 2002), Ismail Kadare’s The Siege, Jerzy Kosinski’s Steps (National Book Award 1969), Jacqueline Susann’s Valley of the Dolls, Nick McDonell’s Twelve, Catherine Millet’s The Sexual Life of Catherine M., Pascal Mercier’s Night Train to Lisbon, Kay Ryan (Poet Laureate of the United States 2008/9) as well as Antonio Lobo Antunes, Will Self, Barry Hannah, Terry Southern, and many others.

Home
Ordering
Media / Review Copy
Author Tours
Catalogs
Booksellers
Reading Group Guides
Teachers / Desk Copy
Rights & Permissions
Contact Us
Barry Hannah Long, Last, Happy
Long, Last, Happy

“Barry Hannah is the best fiction writer to appear in the South since Flannery O’Connor.”
Larry Mcmurtry

“Barry Hannah is an original, and one of the most consistently exciting writers of the post-Faulkner generation.”
William Styron, Salon

Click here for more on Barry Hannah and Long, Last, Happy
Forty Thieves by Thomas Perry
Matterhorn by Karl Marlantes
 
Description 
Praise 
Excerpt 
Author 
Biography 
Awards 
Google Book Preview
Buy This Book
The Royal Nonesuch is very funny, far too real for comfort, and even, finally, life-affirming. To borrow a phrase from Mr. Phillips, reading this book is like getting kicked in the clams with a clown shoe. You double over, not sure whether you’re laughing or crying, and then you want to kick the clown back, in the clams. That course of action won’t be available to all readers, but I have Mr. Phillips’s address, and I’m on my way now to the clown shoe store.” —Dave Eggers, author of A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius and You Shall Know Our Velocity
The Royal Nonesuch
By Glasgow Phillips
Black Cat
978-0-8021-7028-6 • $14.00 • Paperback • Mar. 2007
Memoir

Glasgow Phillips published his debut novel Tuscaloosa at the tender age of twenty-four. The results were disastrous: encouraging reviews, translations, a paperback sale, a film option, and a Stegner Fellowship at Stanford. But over the next two years, as Phillips’s second novel unraveled and freelance journalism assignments ended in humiliation, a horrible, secret thought took hold in him: perhaps, just possibly, whatever talent he had was of the kind
that would never be more than promise.

Washed up as a “real” writer before he was thirty, Phillips went to Los Angeles and formed a company with his best childhood friend, Jason McHugh, independent producer of Cannibal! The Musical and Orgazmo. “Precisely what the company would do was somewhat beside the point,” he writes. “We were friends who wanted to do something together. In other times or other circumstances we might have started a magazine, a social club, a religion, or a gang. It was the late 1990s, so we started an Internet company.”

The Royal Nonesuch is the story of Phillips’s roller-coaster ride through the twisted world of
underground Hollywood and the fun house of the Internet during the boom. He builds a hilarious and poignant memoir, in the tradition of Augusten Burroughs and Sean Wilsey, from tales of promise and failure, family and madness, friendship and redemption, fame and infamy, and good old-fashioned hustling. This is a remarkable book, a brilliant portrait of a generation in all its foolish glory.
<July 2017>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
25



26



27

Tim Murphy
Christodora

07:00 PM-8:00 PM: LUCKY BAR
168 Avenue B
New York, NY


28



29



30



1



2



3



4



5



6

Lyndsay Faye
Whole Art of Detection, The

5:00 PM-6:30 PM: NORTHSHIRE BOOKSTORE
4869 Main St.
Manchester Center, VT


7



8



9



10



11

Mark Bowden
Hue 1968

07:30 PM-09:00 PM: FREE LIBRARY OF PHILADELPHIA
1901 Vine Street
Philadelphia, PA


12

Madeleine Blais
To the New Owners

07:00 PM: ODYSSEY BOOKSHOP
9 College Street
Amherst/Northampton, MA


13



14



15



16



17



18



19

Madeleine Blais
To the New Owners

06:00 PM: SAVOY BOOKSHOP& CAFÉ
10 canal st.
Rhode Island


20

Charmaine Craig
Miss Burma

7:00 PM: VILLAGE BOOKS
Chuckanut Radio Hour
1200 11th Street
Bellingham, WA


Charmaine Craig
Miss Burma

3:00 PM: HOTEL BELLWETHER
One Bellweather Way
Bellingham, WA


Tim Murphy
Christodora

6:30 PM: MUSEUM OF THE CITY OF NEW YORK
AIDS at Home: Art and Everyday Activism
1220 Fifth Ave at 103rd Street
New York, NY


21

Madeleine Blais
To the New Owners

07:00 PM: POLITICS & PROSE
5015 Connecticut Ave NW
Washington, DC


22



23



24



25



26

Edward Luce
Retreat of Western Liberalism, The

07:00 PM: POLITICS & PROSE
5015 Connecticut Ave NW
Washington, DC


27



28



29



30



31



1

David Abrams
Brave Deeds

7:00 PM: FACT & FICTION
220 North Higgins Avenue
Missoula, MT


Tim Murphy
Christodora

6:30 PM-8:00 PM: GREENWICH VILLAGE SOCIETY
FOR HISTORIC PRESERVATION
232 East 11th Street
New York, NY


2

David Abrams
Brave Deeds

BOOKS AND BOOKS
206 W Park Street
Butte, MT


3

Madeleine Blais
To the New Owners

07:00 PM: PORTER SQUARE BOOKS
25 White Street
Boston/Cambridge, MA


4



5

Madeleine Blais
To the New Owners

MARTHA'S VINEYARD BOOK FESTIVAL


Go
Webmaster: Michael Dudding
Graphic Design: Gretchen Mergenthaler
Development & Programming: Peter Grand, Inc.