Grove Press is a hardcover and paperback imprint of Grove Atlantic, Inc. Grove Press was founded on Grove Street in New York’s Greenwich Village in 1947. But its true beginning came in 1951 when twenty-eight-year-old Barney Rossett, Jr. bought the company and turned it into one of the most influential publishers of the 1950s, 60s, and 70s. From the outset, Rossett took chances: Grove published many of the Beats including William S. Burroughs, Jack Kerouac, and Allen Ginsberg. In addition, Grove Press became the preeminent publisher of twentieth-century drama in America, publishing the work of Samuel Beckett (Nobel Prize for Literature 1969), Bertold Brecht, Eugene Ionesco, David Mamet (Pulitzer Prize for Drama 1984), Harold Pinter (Nobel Prize for Literature 2005), Tom Stoppard, and many more. The press also introduced to American audiences the work of international authors such as Jorge Luis Borges, Mikhail Bulgakov, Marguerite Duras, Jean Genet, Pablo Neruda, Octavio Paz (Nobel Prize for Literature 1990), Kenzaburo Oe (Nobel Prize for Literature 1994), Elfriede Jelinek (Nobel Prize for Literature 2004), Alain Robbe-Grillet, and Juan Rulfo. In the late 1950s and early 1960s, Barney Rossett challenged the obscenity laws by publishing D. H. Lawrence’s Lady Chatterley’s Lover and then Henry Miller’s Tropic of Cancer. His landmark court victories changed the American cultural landscape. Grove Press went on to publish literary erotic classics like The Story of O and ground-breaking gay fiction like John Rechy’s City of Night, as well as the works of the Marquis de Sade. On the political front, Grove Press published classics that include Franz Fanon’s The Wretched of the Earth, The Autobiography of Malcolm X, and Che Guevara’s The Bolivian Diary, among many other titles. In 1986, Barney Rosset sold the company and the press became part of Grove Weidenfeld. In 1993 that company was merged with Atlantic Monthly Press to form Grove Atlantic, Inc.

Since 1993, Grove Press has been both a hardcover and paperback imprint of Grove Atlantic publishing fiction, drama, poetry, literature in translation, and general nonfiction. Authors and titles include Jon Lee Anderson’s Che Guevara: A Revolutionary Life, Robert Olen Butler’s A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain (Pulitzer Prize for Literature 1993), Kiran Desai’s Inheritance of Loss (Man Booker Prize 2006), Richard Flanagan’s Gould’s Book of Fish (Commonwealth Prize 2002), Ismail Kadare’s The Siege, Jerzy Kosinski’s Steps (National Book Award 1969), Jacqueline Susann’s Valley of the Dolls, Nick McDonell’s Twelve, Catherine Millet’s The Sexual Life of Catherine M., Pascal Mercier’s Night Train to Lisbon, Kay Ryan (Poet Laureate of the United States 2008/9) as well as Antonio Lobo Antunes, Will Self, Barry Hannah, Terry Southern, and many others.

Home
Ordering
Media / Review Copy
Author Tours
Catalogs
Booksellers
Reading Group Guides
Teachers / Desk Copy
Rights & Permissions
Contact Us
Barry Hannah Long, Last, Happy
Long, Last, Happy

“Barry Hannah is the best fiction writer to appear in the South since Flannery O’Connor.”
Larry Mcmurtry

“Barry Hannah is an original, and one of the most consistently exciting writers of the post-Faulkner generation.”
William Styron, Salon

Click here for more on Barry Hannah and Long, Last, Happy
Forty Thieves by Thomas Perry
Matterhorn by Karl Marlantes
 
Description 
Praise 
Excerpt 
Author 
Biography 
Awards 
Google Book Preview
Buy This Book
Also By This Author

A Really Big Lunch By Jim Harrison

Legends of the Fall By Jim Harrison

The Big Seven By Jim Harrison

The Ancient Minstrel By Jim Harrison

Brown Dog By Jim Harrison

The River Swimmer By Jim Harrison

Dalva By Jim Harrison

The Farmer's Daughter By Jim Harrison

The English Major By Jim Harrison

Julip By Jim Harrison

The Woman Lit by Fireflies By Jim Harrison

Returning to Earth By Jim Harrison

The Road Home By Jim Harrison

The Summer He Didn't Die By Jim Harrison

True North By Jim Harrison

Off to the Side By Jim Harrison

The Raw and the Cooked By Jim Harrison

The Beast God Forgot to Invent By Jim Harrison

The Boy Who Ran to the Woods By Jim Harrison
A black-comic detective novel in the vein of No Country for Old Men, Jim Harrison’s The Great Leader follows a retired detective in hilarious and bold pursuit of a sinister cult leader.

The Great Leader
A Faux Mystery
By Jim Harrison
Grove Press
978-0-8021-4598-7 • $15.00 • Paperback • Oct. 2012
Fiction

The Great Leader is precisely what readers will want reading it to be: enthralling, exhilarating, provocative.” —The Globe and Mail


“You can still feel the excitement every time he pulls something new out of his ear. . . . which pretty much happens on every page he writes. . . . Jim Harrison can break all the rules he wants and come out smelling like a rose.” —Pete Dexter, The New York Times Book Review

Best-selling and beloved author Jim Harrison has won international acclaim for his masterful body of work, including Returning to Earth, Legends of the Fall, and over thirty books of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry. In his newest and most original work to date, Harrison delivers an enthralling, witty, and expertly crafted novel that follows one man’s hunt for an elusive cult leader, dubbed the Great Leader.

Detective Sunderson is on the verge of retirement when he begins to investigate a hedonistic cult, which has set up camp near his home in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula. At first, the self-declared Great Leader seems merely a harmless oddball, but as Sunderson and his unlikely sixteen-year-old sidekick dig deeper, they find him more intelligent and sinister than they realized. Recently divorced and frequently pickled in alcohol, Sunderson tracks his quarry from the woods of Michigan to a town in Arizona that is filled with professional and criminal border-crossers, then on to Nebraska where the Great Leader’s most recent recruits have gathered to glorify his questionable religion. But Sunderson’s demons are also in pursuit of him.

Rich with character and incredibly funny, Jim Harrison’s The Great Leader is at once a gripping excursion through America’s landscapes and the poignant story of a man grappling with age, lost love, and his own darker nature.

<December 2016>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
27



28



29

John Freeman
Freeman's: Family

7:00 PM: COPPERFIELD'S
850 4th St
San Rafael CA


30

John Freeman
Freeman's: Family

7:00 PM: CITY LIGHTS BOOKSELLERS
261 Columbus Avenue
San Francisco, CA


1

Sabina Murray
Valiant Gentlemen

7:00 PM: HARVARD BOOKSTORE
1256 Massachusetts Avenue
Boston/Cambridge, MA


2

John Freeman
Freeman's: Family

7:00 PM: TIME TESTED BOOKS
1114 21st Street
Sacramento, CA


3

Marc Wortman
1941: Fighting the Shadow War

2:30 PM: POUGHKEEPSIE PUBLIC LIBRARY
Poughkeepsie, NY


4



5

Tim Murphy
Christodora

6:30 PM-8:00 PM: JERSEY CITY FREE PUBLIC LIBRARY
472 Jersey Avenue
Biblioteca Criolla, 4th Floor
Jersey City,


6

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Sympathizer, The

6:30 PM: CENTER FOR FICTION
Award Ceremony
Metropolitan Club
One East 60th Street
New York City


7

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Sympathizer, The

7:00 PM: TATTERED COVER BOOKS
2526 East Colfax Avenue
Denver, CO


Marc Wortman
1941: Fighting the Shadow War

3:30 PM: WWII HISTORY ROUNDTABLE
7220 Fleetwood Drive
St. Paul, MN


Kevin Morris
All Joe Knight

7:00 PM: BOOK SOUP
8818 Sunset BLVD.
Los Angeles, CA


8

Rabih Alameddine
Angel of History, The

7:00 PM: ELLIOTT BAY BOOK COMPANY
1521 Tenth Ave
Seattle, WA


9



10



11



12



13

Rabih Alameddine
Angel of History, The

7:00 PM: BOOK PASSAGE
51 Tamal Vista Blvd.
Corte Madera, CA


14

Scott Price
Playing Through the Whistle

7:30 PM: BIRD IN HAND
Introduced by Jessica Blau
9 East 33rd Street
Baltimore, MD


15



16



17



18



19

Scott Price
Playing Through the Whistle

6:00 PM: BF JONES MEMORIAL LIBRARY
Benefit for DiMontae Bronaugh
663 Franklin Ave
Aliquippa, PA


20



21



22



23



24



25



26



27



28



29



30



31



1



2



3



4



5



6



7



Go
Webmaster: Michael Dudding
Graphic Design: Gretchen Mergenthaler
Development & Programming: Peter Grand, Inc.