Grove Press is a hardcover and paperback imprint of Grove Atlantic, Inc. Grove Press was founded on Grove Street in New York’s Greenwich Village in 1947. But its true beginning came in 1951 when twenty-eight-year-old Barney Rossett, Jr. bought the company and turned it into one of the most influential publishers of the 1950s, 60s, and 70s. From the outset, Rossett took chances: Grove published many of the Beats including William S. Burroughs, Jack Kerouac, and Allen Ginsberg. In addition, Grove Press became the preeminent publisher of twentieth-century drama in America, publishing the work of Samuel Beckett (Nobel Prize for Literature 1969), Bertold Brecht, Eugene Ionesco, David Mamet (Pulitzer Prize for Drama 1984), Harold Pinter (Nobel Prize for Literature 2005), Tom Stoppard, and many more. The press also introduced to American audiences the work of international authors such as Jorge Luis Borges, Mikhail Bulgakov, Marguerite Duras, Jean Genet, Pablo Neruda, Octavio Paz (Nobel Prize for Literature 1990), Kenzaburo Oe (Nobel Prize for Literature 1994), Elfriede Jelinek (Nobel Prize for Literature 2004), Alain Robbe-Grillet, and Juan Rulfo. In the late 1950s and early 1960s, Barney Rossett challenged the obscenity laws by publishing D. H. Lawrence’s Lady Chatterley’s Lover and then Henry Miller’s Tropic of Cancer. His landmark court victories changed the American cultural landscape. Grove Press went on to publish literary erotic classics like The Story of O and ground-breaking gay fiction like John Rechy’s City of Night, as well as the works of the Marquis de Sade. On the political front, Grove Press published classics that include Franz Fanon’s The Wretched of the Earth, The Autobiography of Malcolm X, and Che Guevara’s The Bolivian Diary, among many other titles. In 1986, Barney Rosset sold the company and the press became part of Grove Weidenfeld. In 1993 that company was merged with Atlantic Monthly Press to form Grove Atlantic, Inc.

Since 1993, Grove Press has been both a hardcover and paperback imprint of Grove Atlantic publishing fiction, drama, poetry, literature in translation, and general nonfiction. Authors and titles include Jon Lee Anderson’s Che Guevara: A Revolutionary Life, Robert Olen Butler’s A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain (Pulitzer Prize for Literature 1993), Kiran Desai’s Inheritance of Loss (Man Booker Prize 2006), Richard Flanagan’s Gould’s Book of Fish (Commonwealth Prize 2002), Ismail Kadare’s The Siege, Jerzy Kosinski’s Steps (National Book Award 1969), Jacqueline Susann’s Valley of the Dolls, Nick McDonell’s Twelve, Catherine Millet’s The Sexual Life of Catherine M., Pascal Mercier’s Night Train to Lisbon, Kay Ryan (Poet Laureate of the United States 2008/9) as well as Antonio Lobo Antunes, Will Self, Barry Hannah, Terry Southern, and many others.

Home
Ordering
Media / Review Copy
Author Tours
Catalogs
Booksellers
Reading Group Guides
Teachers / Desk Copy
Rights & Permissions
Contact Us
Lions by Bonnie Nadzam
Lions

“A truly American fairytale. . . .
on love, loyalty, and ambition.”
Booklist


“[A] story of haunted histories and broken promises.”
—O, The Oprah Magazine, a "Must-Read Book of the Summer"

“Masterfully crafted and pitch perfect.”—Chris Abani

“Mesmerizing.”
—Publishers Weekly
Forty Thieves by Thomas Perry
Matterhorn by Karl Marlantes
 
Description 
Praise 
Excerpt 
Author 
Biography 
Awards 
Google Book Preview
Buy This Book
“Her description of life in the famous Allendale building . . . is delightful, as are her portraits of fellow musicians and her stories of life in the pit.” —Susan Salter Reynolds, Los Angeles Times
Mozart in the Jungle
Sex, Drugs, and Classical Music
By Blair Tindall
Grove Press
978-0-8021-4253-5 • $16.00 • Paperback • July 2006
Music (Classical)
In the tradition of Anthony Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential and Gelsey Kirkland’s Dancing on My Grave comes an insider’s look into the cloistered world of classical music.

From her debut recital at Carnegie Hall to performing with the orchestras of Les Misérables and Miss Saigon, oboist Blair Tindall has been playing classical music professionally for twenty-five years. She’s also lived the secret life of musicians who survive hand to mouth, trading sex and drugs for low-paying gigs and the promise of winning a rare symphony position or a lucrative solo recording contract. In Mozart in the Jungle, Tindall delves into her own life and the lives of the musicians and conductors who inhabit the insular world of classical music.

After having an affair with her forty-three-year-old teacher at the age of sixteen, Tindall graduates from the North Carolina School of the Arts to the backbiting New York classical music scene, a world where classical musicians trade sexual favors for plum jobs and assignments in musicals and orchestras across the city. Tindall and her fellow journeymen musicians often play drunk, high, or hopelessly hungover, live in decrepit apartments, and perform in hazardous conditions—in the cramped confines of a Broadway pit, the decibel level of one instrument is equal to the sound of a chain saw. Mozart in the Jungle offers a stark contrast between the rarefied experiences of overpaid classical musician superstars and those of the working-class musicians who schlep across the city from low-paying gig to low-paying gig, without health-care benefits or retirement plans. For lovers of classical music, Mozart in the Jungle is the first true, behind-the-scenes look at what goes on backstage and in the Broadway pit.

Visit the Mozart in the Jungle website.
<August 2016>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
31

Anna Noyes
Goodnight, Beautiful Women

7:30 PM: ROUGE READING SERIES
15 West Madison Street
Baltimore, MD


1



2



3

Anna Noyes
Goodnight, Beautiful Women

7:00 PM: BARNES & NOBLE UPPER WEST SIDE
82nd and Broadway
New York, NY


4



5

Frank Deford
I'd Know That Voice Anywhere

6:00 PM-8:00 PM: HOTCHKISS LIBRARY OF SHARON
10 Upper Main St
Sharon, CT


6

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Sympathizer, The

ANNENBERG SPACE FOR PHOTOGRAPHY
Either August 6 or 7
Los Angeles, CA


Tim Murphy
Christodora

10:00 AM: OUTWRITE 2016
Fit to Print: Reflections from Queer Journalists
Reeves Center
2000 14th Street NW
Washington, DC


Tim Murphy
Christodora

5:00 PM: OUTWRITE 2016
I Heart NY; Tales from that Other City
Reeves Center
2000 14th Street NW
Washington, DC


7



8



9



10



11



12



13

Tim Murphy
Christodora

4:00 PM: GOLDEN NOTEBOOK
29 Tinker Street
Woodstock, NY


14



15

Marc Wortman
1941: Fighting the Shadow War

7:00 PM-9:00 PM: BOOKMARK HALIFAX
5686 Spring Garden Road
Halifax, NS


16



17

Tim Murphy
Christodora

7:00 PM-8:30 PM: HOUSING WORKS BOOKSTORE CAFE
126 Crosby Street
New York City


18

Anna Noyes
Goodnight, Beautiful Women

NORUMBEGA COLLECTIVE
location tk
Bangor, ME


Robert Olen Butler
Perfume River

05:00 PM: ALABAMA BOOKSMITH
2626 19th Place
Alabama


19



20

Robert Olen Butler
Perfume River

04:00 PM: MISSISSIPPI BOOK FESTIVAL
GALLOWAY SANCTUARY
Jackson, MI


21



22



23



24

Bonnie Nadzam
Lions

6:00 PM-8:00 PM: NIGHTTOWN
co-sponsored by Appletree Books
12383 Cedar Rd
Cleveland Heights, OH


25

Patrick O'Donnell
Washington's Immortals

6:30 PM: FRAUNCES TAVERN MUSEUM
54 Pearl Street
New York, NY


26



27

Anna Noyes
Goodnight, Beautiful Women

4:00 PM-4:40 PM: HOLLIHOCK WRITERS CONFERENCE
715 Purchase Street
New Bedford, MA


28

Anna Noyes
Goodnight, Beautiful Women

9:50 AM-10:35 AM: HOLLIHOCK WRITERS CONFERENCE
715 Purchase St
New Bedford, MA


29

Tim Murphy
Christodora

7:30 PM: GREENLIGHT BOOKSTORE
686 Fulton Street
Brooklyn, NY


30

Rob Spillman
All Tomorrow's Parties

AUGUSTA COLLEGE
1120 15th Street
Augusta, GA


31

Rob Spillman
All Tomorrow's Parties

7:00 PM: SEERSUCKER LIVE!
The Tin Curtain Episode
Sulfur Studios
2301 Bull Street
Savannah, GA


1

Rob Spillman
All Tomorrow's Parties

7:00 PM: AVID BOOKSHOP
493 Prince Ave.
Athens, GA


2

Robert Olen Butler
Perfume River

DECATUR BOOK FESTIVAL
601 W. Ponce de Leon Ave.
Decatur, GA


3

Rob Spillman
All Tomorrow's Parties

4:15 PM-5:00 PM: AJC DECATUR BOOK FESTIVAL
Decature Library
Presented by WABE
Atlanta, GA


4



5



6



7



8

John Freeman
Freeman's: Family

7:00 PM-8:00 PM: NEW SCHOOL AUDITORIUM
co-sponsored by McNally Jackson
66 West 12th Street
New York, NY


John Bloom
Eccentric Orbits

07:00 PM: BOOKS INCI N MOUNTAIN VIEW
301 Castro Street
San Fran/San Jose/Oakland, CA


9



10

Rob Spillman
All Tomorrow's Parties

1:30 PM-2:30 PM: SLICE LITERARY WRITERS CONFERENCE
Feature Talk
St Francis College
Founders Hall
Brooklyn, NY


Go
Webmaster: Michael Dudding
Graphic Design: Gretchen Mergenthaler
Development & Programming: Peter Grand, Inc.