Grove Press is a hardcover and paperback imprint of Grove Atlantic, Inc. Grove Press was founded on Grove Street in New York’s Greenwich Village in 1947. But its true beginning came in 1951 when twenty-eight-year-old Barney Rossett, Jr. bought the company and turned it into one of the most influential publishers of the 1950s, 60s, and 70s. From the outset, Rossett took chances: Grove published many of the Beats including William S. Burroughs, Jack Kerouac, and Allen Ginsberg. In addition, Grove Press became the preeminent publisher of twentieth-century drama in America, publishing the work of Samuel Beckett (Nobel Prize for Literature 1969), Bertold Brecht, Eugene Ionesco, David Mamet (Pulitzer Prize for Drama 1984), Harold Pinter (Nobel Prize for Literature 2005), Tom Stoppard, and many more. The press also introduced to American audiences the work of international authors such as Jorge Luis Borges, Mikhail Bulgakov, Marguerite Duras, Jean Genet, Pablo Neruda, Octavio Paz (Nobel Prize for Literature 1990), Kenzaburo Oe (Nobel Prize for Literature 1994), Elfriede Jelinek (Nobel Prize for Literature 2004), Alain Robbe-Grillet, and Juan Rulfo. In the late 1950s and early 1960s, Barney Rossett challenged the obscenity laws by publishing D. H. Lawrence’s Lady Chatterley’s Lover and then Henry Miller’s Tropic of Cancer. His landmark court victories changed the American cultural landscape. Grove Press went on to publish literary erotic classics like The Story of O and ground-breaking gay fiction like John Rechy’s City of Night, as well as the works of the Marquis de Sade. On the political front, Grove Press published classics that include Franz Fanon’s The Wretched of the Earth, The Autobiography of Malcolm X, and Che Guevara’s The Bolivian Diary, among many other titles. In 1986, Barney Rosset sold the company and the press became part of Grove Weidenfeld. In 1993 that company was merged with Atlantic Monthly Press to form Grove Atlantic, Inc.

Since 1993, Grove Press has been both a hardcover and paperback imprint of Grove Atlantic publishing fiction, drama, poetry, literature in translation, and general nonfiction. Authors and titles include Jon Lee Anderson’s Che Guevara: A Revolutionary Life, Robert Olen Butler’s A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain (Pulitzer Prize for Literature 1993), Kiran Desai’s Inheritance of Loss (Man Booker Prize 2006), Richard Flanagan’s Gould’s Book of Fish (Commonwealth Prize 2002), Ismail Kadare’s The Siege, Jerzy Kosinski’s Steps (National Book Award 1969), Jacqueline Susann’s Valley of the Dolls, Nick McDonell’s Twelve, Catherine Millet’s The Sexual Life of Catherine M., Pascal Mercier’s Night Train to Lisbon, Kay Ryan (Poet Laureate of the United States 2008/9) as well as Antonio Lobo Antunes, Will Self, Barry Hannah, Terry Southern, and many others.

Home
Ordering
Media / Review Copy
Author Tours
Catalogs
Booksellers
Reading Group Guides
Teachers / Desk Copy
Rights & Permissions
Contact Us
Young Skins by Colin Barrett
Young Skins


Winner of the 2014 Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award


“A stunning debut . . . The timeless nature of each story means this collection can—and will—be read many years from now.” —Sunday Times

“Exciting and stylistically adventurous.” —Colm Toibín
Turn of Mind by Alice LaPlante
Matterhorn by Karl Marlantes
 
Description 
Praise 
Excerpt 
Author 
Biography 
Awards 
Google Book Preview
Buy This Book
“Her description of life in the famous Allendale building . . . is delightful, as are her portraits of fellow musicians and her stories of life in the pit.” —Susan Salter Reynolds, Los Angeles Times
Mozart in the Jungle
Sex, Drugs, and Classical Music
By Blair Tindall
Grove Press
978-0-8021-4253-5 • $16.00 • Paperback • July 2006
Music (Classical)
In the tradition of Anthony Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential and Gelsey Kirkland’s Dancing on My Grave comes an insider’s look into the cloistered world of classical music.

From her debut recital at Carnegie Hall to performing with the orchestras of Les Misérables and Miss Saigon, oboist Blair Tindall has been playing classical music professionally for twenty-five years. She’s also lived the secret life of musicians who survive hand to mouth, trading sex and drugs for low-paying gigs and the promise of winning a rare symphony position or a lucrative solo recording contract. In Mozart in the Jungle, Tindall delves into her own life and the lives of the musicians and conductors who inhabit the insular world of classical music.

After having an affair with her forty-three-year-old teacher at the age of sixteen, Tindall graduates from the North Carolina School of the Arts to the backbiting New York classical music scene, a world where classical musicians trade sexual favors for plum jobs and assignments in musicals and orchestras across the city. Tindall and her fellow journeymen musicians often play drunk, high, or hopelessly hungover, live in decrepit apartments, and perform in hazardous conditions—in the cramped confines of a Broadway pit, the decibel level of one instrument is equal to the sound of a chain saw. Mozart in the Jungle offers a stark contrast between the rarefied experiences of overpaid classical musician superstars and those of the working-class musicians who schlep across the city from low-paying gig to low-paying gig, without health-care benefits or retirement plans. For lovers of classical music, Mozart in the Jungle is the first true, behind-the-scenes look at what goes on backstage and in the Broadway pit.

Visit the Mozart in the Jungle website.
<August 2017>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
30



31



1

David Abrams
Brave Deeds

7:00 PM: FACT & FICTION
220 North Higgins Avenue
Missoula, MT


Tim Murphy
Christodora

6:30 PM-8:00 PM: GREENWICH VILLAGE SOCIETY
FOR HISTORIC PRESERVATION
232 East 11th Street
New York, NY


2



3

David Abrams
Brave Deeds

6:00 PM: BOOKS AND BOOKS
206 W Park Street
Butte, MT


Madeleine Blais
To the New Owners

07:00 PM: PORTER SQUARE BOOKS
25 White Street
Boston/Cambridge, MA


4



5

Madeleine Blais
To the New Owners

MARTHA'S VINEYARD BOOK FESTIVAL


6



7



8



9



10



11



12



13



14

David Abrams
Brave Deeds

5:00 PM: ICONOCLAST BOOKS
at The Ketchum Community Library
415 Spruce Ave
Ketchum, ID


15

David Abrams
Brave Deeds

5:30 PM: SUNRIVER BOOKS
57100 Beaver Dr
Sunriver, OR


16

David Abrams
Brave Deeds

7:30 PM: POWELL'S BOOKS
2720 NW 29th Street
Portland, OR


17

David Abrams
Brave Deeds

7:00 PM: VILLAGE BOOKS
1200 11th Street
Bellingham, WA


Mark Bowden
Hue 1968

07:00 PM: SQUARE BOOKS
160 Courthouse Square
Oxford, MS


18



19

Mark Bowden
Hue 1968

12:00 PM-01:00 PM: MISSISSIPPI BOOK FESTIVAL
Jackson, MS


20



21

David Abrams
Brave Deeds

7:00 PM: ELLIOTT BAY BOOK COMPANY
1521 Tenth Ave
Seattle, WA


22

David Abrams
Brave Deeds

7:00 PM: AUNTIE'S BOOKSTORE
402 West Main
Spokane, WA


23

David Abrams
Brave Deeds

7:30 PM: BOOK PEOPLE OF MOSCOW
512 S Main St
Moscow, ID


24



25



26

David Abrams
Brave Deeds

12:00 PM: THIS HOUSE OF BOOKS
224 N Broadway
Billings, MT


27



28

David Abrams
Brave Deeds

7:00 PM: COUNTRY BOOKSHELF
28 W. Main Street
Bozeman, MT


29

David Abrams
Brave Deeds

7:00 PM: ELK RIVER BOOKS
120 North Main Street
Livingston, MT


Mark Bowden
Hue 1968

07:00 PM-08:30 PM: POLITICS & PROSE
5015 Connecticut Ave NW
Washington, DC


30



31



1



2



3



4



5



6



7



8



9



Go
Webmaster: Michael Dudding
Graphic Design: Gretchen Mergenthaler
Development & Programming: Peter Grand, Inc.