Grove Press is a hardcover and paperback imprint of Grove Atlantic, Inc. Grove Press was founded on Grove Street in New York’s Greenwich Village in 1947. But its true beginning came in 1951 when twenty-eight-year-old Barney Rossett, Jr. bought the company and turned it into one of the most influential publishers of the 1950s, 60s, and 70s. From the outset, Rossett took chances: Grove published many of the Beats including William S. Burroughs, Jack Kerouac, and Allen Ginsberg. In addition, Grove Press became the preeminent publisher of twentieth-century drama in America, publishing the work of Samuel Beckett (Nobel Prize for Literature 1969), Bertold Brecht, Eugene Ionesco, David Mamet (Pulitzer Prize for Drama 1984), Harold Pinter (Nobel Prize for Literature 2005), Tom Stoppard, and many more. The press also introduced to American audiences the work of international authors such as Jorge Luis Borges, Mikhail Bulgakov, Marguerite Duras, Jean Genet, Pablo Neruda, Octavio Paz (Nobel Prize for Literature 1990), Kenzaburo Oe (Nobel Prize for Literature 1994), Elfriede Jelinek (Nobel Prize for Literature 2004), Alain Robbe-Grillet, and Juan Rulfo. In the late 1950s and early 1960s, Barney Rossett challenged the obscenity laws by publishing D. H. Lawrence’s Lady Chatterley’s Lover and then Henry Miller’s Tropic of Cancer. His landmark court victories changed the American cultural landscape. Grove Press went on to publish literary erotic classics like The Story of O and ground-breaking gay fiction like John Rechy’s City of Night, as well as the works of the Marquis de Sade. On the political front, Grove Press published classics that include Franz Fanon’s The Wretched of the Earth, The Autobiography of Malcolm X, and Che Guevara’s The Bolivian Diary, among many other titles. In 1986, Barney Rosset sold the company and the press became part of Grove Weidenfeld. In 1993 that company was merged with Atlantic Monthly Press to form Grove Atlantic, Inc.

Since 1993, Grove Press has been both a hardcover and paperback imprint of Grove Atlantic publishing fiction, drama, poetry, literature in translation, and general nonfiction. Authors and titles include Jon Lee Anderson’s Che Guevara: A Revolutionary Life, Robert Olen Butler’s A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain (Pulitzer Prize for Literature 1993), Kiran Desai’s Inheritance of Loss (Man Booker Prize 2006), Richard Flanagan’s Gould’s Book of Fish (Commonwealth Prize 2002), Ismail Kadare’s The Siege, Jerzy Kosinski’s Steps (National Book Award 1969), Jacqueline Susann’s Valley of the Dolls, Nick McDonell’s Twelve, Catherine Millet’s The Sexual Life of Catherine M., Pascal Mercier’s Night Train to Lisbon, Kay Ryan (Poet Laureate of the United States 2008/9) as well as Antonio Lobo Antunes, Will Self, Barry Hannah, Terry Southern, and many others.

Home
Ordering
Media / Review Copy
Author Tours
Catalogs
Booksellers
Reading Group Guides
Teachers / Desk Copy
Rights & Permissions
Contact Us
Neither Snow Nor Rain
Neither Snow nor Rain

“Lively . . .
brisk [and] informative . . .
A spirited look at the business and impact of
delivery mail.”
Kirkus Reviews

“A fast-moving, richly detailed portrait of the U.S. Postal Service—a system far more important to the country than is generally understood.”
—Brad Stone, author of
The Everything Store

Read more
Forty Thieves by Thomas Perry
Matterhorn by Karl Marlantes
 
Description 
Praise 
Excerpt 
Author 
Biography 
Awards 
Google Book Preview
Buy This Book
“Her description of life in the famous Allendale building . . . is delightful, as are her portraits of fellow musicians and her stories of life in the pit.” —Susan Salter Reynolds, Los Angeles Times
Mozart in the Jungle
Sex, Drugs, and Classical Music
By Blair Tindall
Grove Press
978-0-8021-4253-5 • $16.00 • Paperback • July 2006
Music, Memoir
In the tradition of Anthony Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential and Gelsey Kirkland’s Dancing on My Grave comes an insider’s look into the cloistered world of classical music.

From her debut recital at Carnegie Hall to performing with the orchestras of Les Misérables and Miss Saigon, oboist Blair Tindall has been playing classical music professionally for twenty-five years. She’s also lived the secret life of musicians who survive hand to mouth, trading sex and drugs for low-paying gigs and the promise of winning a rare symphony position or a lucrative solo recording contract. In Mozart in the Jungle, Tindall delves into her own life and the lives of the musicians and conductors who inhabit the insular world of classical music.

After having an affair with her forty-three-year-old teacher at the age of sixteen, Tindall graduates from the North Carolina School of the Arts to the backbiting New York classical music scene, a world where classical musicians trade sexual favors for plum jobs and assignments in musicals and orchestras across the city. Tindall and her fellow journeymen musicians often play drunk, high, or hopelessly hungover, live in decrepit apartments, and perform in hazardous conditions—in the cramped confines of a Broadway pit, the decibel level of one instrument is equal to the sound of a chain saw. Mozart in the Jungle offers a stark contrast between the rarefied experiences of overpaid classical musician superstars and those of the working-class musicians who schlep across the city from low-paying gig to low-paying gig, without health-care benefits or retirement plans. For lovers of classical music, Mozart in the Jungle is the first true, behind-the-scenes look at what goes on backstage and in the Broadway pit.

Visit the Mozart in the Jungle website.
<May 2016>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
24



25



26



27



28

Patrick O'Donnell
Washington's Immortals

7:00 PM: HAROLD DEUTSCH WWII HISTORY ROUNDTABLE
Historic Fort Snelling
200 Tower Ave
St. Paul, MN


29

Rob Spillman
All Tomorrow's Parties

7:30 PM-8:30 PM: KATHERINE ANNE PORTER HOUSE
508 Center Street
San Marcos, TX


30

Marc Wortman
1941: Fighting the Shadow War

10:30 AM-11:15 AM: SMITHSONIAN AIR & SPACE - DULLES
Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
14390 Air & Space Museum Parkway
Classrooms 2A-B
Chantilly, VA


Marc Wortman
1941: Fighting the Shadow War

12:00 PM-01:30 PM: SMITHSONIAN AIR & SPACE - DULLES
Udvar-Hazy Center Bookstore
Museum Bookstore
Chantilly, VA


1

Marc Wortman
1941: Fighting the Shadow War

2:30 PM: POLITICS AND PROSE BOOKSTORE
5015 Connecticut Ave NW
Washington, DC


2



3

Rob Spillman
All Tomorrow's Parties

6:30 PM: KRAMER BOOKS & AFTERWORDS
1517 Connecticut Ave. NW
Washington, DC


4

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Sympathizer, The

7:05 PM: CITY LIGHTS BOOKSELLERS
261 Columbus Avenue
San Francisco, CA


Rob Spillman
All Tomorrow's Parties

7:00 PM: IVY BOOKSHOP
6080 Falls Road
Baltimore, MD


Patrick O'Donnell
Washington's Immortals

AMERICAN REVOLUTION ROUND TABLE OF DC
Mount Vernon Inn
3200 Mount Vernon Memorial Hwy
Mount Vernon, V


Patricia Engel
Veins of the Ocean, The

08:00 PM: BOOKS AND BOOKS
265 Aragon Avenue
Miami, FL


5

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Sympathizer, The

7:00 PM: UC BERKELEY
Maude Fife Room, Wheeler Hall
Berkeley, CA


Rob Spillman
All Tomorrow's Parties

6:30 PM-8:30 PM: HOCKESSIN BOOKSHELF
7179 Lancaster Pike
Hockessin, DE


Marc Wortman
1941: Fighting the Shadow War

8:00 PM: ATLANTA HISTORY CENTER
with the William Bremen Jewish Center
130 Paces Ferry Road NW
Atlanta, GA


6

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Sympathizer, The

11:15 AM-12:45 PM: UC IRVINE
Irvine, CA


Frank Deford
I'd Know That Voice Anywhere

6:00 PM: BOOKS & BOOKS @ THE
533 Eaton St
Key West, FL


7

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Sympathizer, The

5:00 PM: SKYLIGHT BOOKS
1818 North Vermont Ave.
Los Angeles, CA


Rob Spillman
All Tomorrow's Parties

4:00 PM: GOTHAM, WRITERS IN NEW YORK AT THE BPL
10 Grand Army Plaza
Brooklyn, NY


8



9

Patricia Engel
Veins of the Ocean, The

07:00 PM: MCNALLY JACKSON
52 Prince Street
New York City


10

Patricia Engel
Veins of the Ocean, The

07:00 PM: BOOKENDS BOOKSTORE
211 E.Ridgewood Avenue
New Jersey, NJ


Marc Wortman
1941: Fighting the Shadow War

7:00 PM: PORTER SQUARE BOOKS
25 White Street
Boston, MA


11

Patricia Engel
Veins of the Ocean, The

06:30 PM: KRAMER BOOKS & AFTERWORDS
1517 Connecticut Ave. NW
Washington, DC


12

Michelle Hoover
Bottomland

07:00 PM: TATTERED COVER BOOKS
2526 East Colfax Avenue
Denver, CO


13



14

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Sympathizer, The

7:00 PM: PEN/FAULKNER AWARD CEREMONY
Folger Shakespeare Theatre
201 East Capitol Street, SE
Washington, DC


15



16



17

Patrick O'Donnell
Washington's Immortals

6:00 PM: SOCIETY OF THE CINCINNATI
Anderson House
2118 Massachusetts Ave NW
Washington, DC


Patricia Engel
Veins of the Ocean, The

07:15 PM: GEORGIA CENTER FOR THE BOOK
Decatur Public Library Auditorium
215 Sycamore Street
Atlanta, GA


18



19

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Sympathizer, The

7:00 PM-9:00 PM: PULITZER PRIZE CENTENNIAL EVENT
Wilshire Ebell Theater and Club
4400 Wilshire Blvd.
Los Angeles, CA


Rob Spillman
All Tomorrow's Parties

PETE'S CANDY STORE
709 Lorimer Street
New York City


Patricia Engel
Veins of the Ocean, The

07:00 PM: INKWOOD BOOKS
216 S. Armenia Avenue
Tampa/St. Petersburg, FL


Marc Wortman
1941: Fighting the Shadow War

6:30 PM: YALE CLUB
50 Vanderbilt Ave
4th Floor Library
New York, NY


20



21

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Sympathizer, The

11:30 AM-03:30 PM: AMERICAN ASSOC. OF UNIVERSITY WOMEN
Torrance Doubletree, Penthouse Room
21333 Hawthorne Blvd
Torrance, CA


22



23

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Sympathizer, The

02:00 PM-04:00 PM: UC IRVINE
Critical Refugee Studies
HG 1030
Riverside, CA


24

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Sympathizer, The

7:15 PM-9:00 PM: LOS ANGELES PUBLIC LIBRARY
Mark Taper Auditorium - Central Library
630 West 5th St.
Los Angeles, CA


Frank Deford
I'd Know That Voice Anywhere

6:30 PM: ENOCH PRATT FREE LIBRARY
Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped
415 Park Ave
Baltimore, MD


25

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Sympathizer, The

8:30 AM-5:30 PM: UC RIVERSIDE
A Symposium: Towards a Critical Refugee Studies
INTS 1113 and INTS 1128
Riverside, CA


26



27



28

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Sympathizer, The

2:00 PM: WELLSTONE CENTER
858 Amigo Road
Santa Cruz, CA


29



30



31



1



2

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Sympathizer, The

7:00 PM-8:00 PM: UNIVERSITY OF OREGON
Straub 156
1451 Onyx Street at 15th
Eugene, OR


3



4

Johanna Sinisalo
Core of the Sun, The

10:00 AM-11:15 AM: BAY AREA BOOK FESTIVAL
Pacific Film Archive, Osher Theater
Berkeley, CA


Johanna Sinisalo
Core of the Sun, The

3:15 PM-4:30 PM: BAY AREA BOOK FESTIVAL
Osher Studio
Berkeley, CA


Go
Webmaster: Michael Dudding
Graphic Design: Gretchen Mergenthaler
Development & Programming: Peter Grand, Inc.