Grove Press is a hardcover and paperback imprint of Grove Atlantic, Inc. Grove Press was founded on Grove Street in New York’s Greenwich Village in 1947. But its true beginning came in 1951 when twenty-eight-year-old Barney Rossett, Jr. bought the company and turned it into one of the most influential publishers of the 1950s, 60s, and 70s. From the outset, Rossett took chances: Grove published many of the Beats including William S. Burroughs, Jack Kerouac, and Allen Ginsberg. In addition, Grove Press became the preeminent publisher of twentieth-century drama in America, publishing the work of Samuel Beckett (Nobel Prize for Literature 1969), Bertold Brecht, Eugene Ionesco, David Mamet (Pulitzer Prize for Drama 1984), Harold Pinter (Nobel Prize for Literature 2005), Tom Stoppard, and many more. The press also introduced to American audiences the work of international authors such as Jorge Luis Borges, Mikhail Bulgakov, Marguerite Duras, Jean Genet, Pablo Neruda, Octavio Paz (Nobel Prize for Literature 1990), Kenzaburo Oe (Nobel Prize for Literature 1994), Elfriede Jelinek (Nobel Prize for Literature 2004), Alain Robbe-Grillet, and Juan Rulfo. In the late 1950s and early 1960s, Barney Rossett challenged the obscenity laws by publishing D. H. Lawrence’s Lady Chatterley’s Lover and then Henry Miller’s Tropic of Cancer. His landmark court victories changed the American cultural landscape. Grove Press went on to publish literary erotic classics like The Story of O and ground-breaking gay fiction like John Rechy’s City of Night, as well as the works of the Marquis de Sade. On the political front, Grove Press published classics that include Franz Fanon’s The Wretched of the Earth, The Autobiography of Malcolm X, and Che Guevara’s The Bolivian Diary, among many other titles. In 1986, Barney Rosset sold the company and the press became part of Grove Weidenfeld. In 1993 that company was merged with Atlantic Monthly Press to form Grove Atlantic, Inc.

Since 1993, Grove Press has been both a hardcover and paperback imprint of Grove Atlantic publishing fiction, drama, poetry, literature in translation, and general nonfiction. Authors and titles include Jon Lee Anderson’s Che Guevara: A Revolutionary Life, Robert Olen Butler’s A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain (Pulitzer Prize for Literature 1993), Kiran Desai’s Inheritance of Loss (Man Booker Prize 2006), Richard Flanagan’s Gould’s Book of Fish (Commonwealth Prize 2002), Ismail Kadare’s The Siege, Jerzy Kosinski’s Steps (National Book Award 1969), Jacqueline Susann’s Valley of the Dolls, Nick McDonell’s Twelve, Catherine Millet’s The Sexual Life of Catherine M., Pascal Mercier’s Night Train to Lisbon, Kay Ryan (Poet Laureate of the United States 2008/9) as well as Antonio Lobo Antunes, Will Self, Barry Hannah, Terry Southern, and many others.

Home
Ordering
Media / Review Copy
Author Tours
Catalogs
Booksellers
Reading Group Guides
Teachers / Desk Copy
Rights & Permissions
Contact Us
Barry Hannah Long, Last, Happy
Long, Last, Happy

“Barry Hannah is the best fiction writer to appear in the South since Flannery O’Connor.”
Larry Mcmurtry

“Barry Hannah is an original, and one of the most consistently exciting writers of the post-Faulkner generation.”
William Styron, Salon

Click here for more on Barry Hannah and Long, Last, Happy
Forty Thieves by Thomas Perry
Matterhorn by Karl Marlantes
 
Description 
Praise 
Excerpt 
Author 
Biography 
Awards 
Google Book Preview
Buy This Book
“Her description of life in the famous Allendale building . . . is delightful, as are her portraits of fellow musicians and her stories of life in the pit.” —Susan Salter Reynolds, Los Angeles Times
Mozart in the Jungle
Sex, Drugs, and Classical Music
By Blair Tindall
Grove Press
978-0-8021-4253-5 • $16.00 • Paperback • July 2006
Music (Classical)
In the tradition of Anthony Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential and Gelsey Kirkland’s Dancing on My Grave comes an insider’s look into the cloistered world of classical music.

From her debut recital at Carnegie Hall to performing with the orchestras of Les Misérables and Miss Saigon, oboist Blair Tindall has been playing classical music professionally for twenty-five years. She’s also lived the secret life of musicians who survive hand to mouth, trading sex and drugs for low-paying gigs and the promise of winning a rare symphony position or a lucrative solo recording contract. In Mozart in the Jungle, Tindall delves into her own life and the lives of the musicians and conductors who inhabit the insular world of classical music.

After having an affair with her forty-three-year-old teacher at the age of sixteen, Tindall graduates from the North Carolina School of the Arts to the backbiting New York classical music scene, a world where classical musicians trade sexual favors for plum jobs and assignments in musicals and orchestras across the city. Tindall and her fellow journeymen musicians often play drunk, high, or hopelessly hungover, live in decrepit apartments, and perform in hazardous conditions—in the cramped confines of a Broadway pit, the decibel level of one instrument is equal to the sound of a chain saw. Mozart in the Jungle offers a stark contrast between the rarefied experiences of overpaid classical musician superstars and those of the working-class musicians who schlep across the city from low-paying gig to low-paying gig, without health-care benefits or retirement plans. For lovers of classical music, Mozart in the Jungle is the first true, behind-the-scenes look at what goes on backstage and in the Broadway pit.

Visit the Mozart in the Jungle website.
<January 2017>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
25



26



27



28



29



30



31



1



2



3



4



5



6



7



8



9

Sabina Murray
Valiant Gentlemen

6:30 PM: KRAMER BOOKS & AFTERWORDS
1517 Connecticut Ave. NW
Washington, DC


10

Emily Fridlund
History of Wolves

07:00 PM: MAGERS & QUINN BOOKSELLERS
3038 Hennepin Avenue South
Minneapolis/St. Paul, MN


Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

7:30 PM: PEN/FAULKNER READING
Folger Shakespeare Library
201 East Capitol Street, SE
Washington, DC


Thomas Perry
Old Man, The

07:00 PM: POISONED PEN
4014 N Goldwater Blvd, Suite #101
Phoenix, AZ


11



12

Emily Fridlund
History of Wolves

07:00 PM: BARNES & NOBLE
3230 Galleria
Minneapolis/St. Paul, MN


Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

7:30 PM: 92ND STREET Y
Unterberg Poetry Center
1395 Lexington Ave
New York City


Thomas Perry
Old Man, The

06:30 PM: MURDER BY THE BOOK
2342 Bissonnet
Houston, TX


13

Emily Fridlund
History of Wolves

07:00 PM: BOSWELL BOOK COMPANY
2559 N. Downer Avenue
Milwaukee, WI


Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

7:00 PM: ASTORIA BOOKSHOP
3129 31st Street
New York City


14



15

Thomas Perry
Old Man, The

02:00 PM: BOOK CARNIVAL
348 S Tustin St
California


16



17

Emily Fridlund
History of Wolves

07:00 PM: LEFT BANK BOOKS
399 North Euclid Ave.
St. Louis, MO


Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

7:00 PM-9:00 PM: NORTH CENTRAL COLLEGE
Wentz Concert Hall, Fine Arts Center
171 E. Chicago Avenue
Naperville, IL


Thomas Perry
Old Man, The

06:00 PM: BOOK PASSAGE
1 Ferry Building
San Fran/San Jose/Oakland, CA


18

Emily Fridlund
History of Wolves

11:30 AM-01:30 PM: LAKE FOREST BOOK STORE
680 N. Western Avenue
Chicago, IL


Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

7:00 PM: SKYLIGHT BOOKS
1818 North Vermont Ave.
Los Angeles, CA


19

Emily Fridlund
History of Wolves

07:00 PM: PRAIRIE LIGHTS BOOKSTORE
15 S. Dubuque St.
Iowa City, IA


Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

7:30 PM: POWELL'S BOOKS
2720 NW 29th Street
Portland, OR


20

Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

7:00 PM: BOOKSHOP SANTA CRUZ
1520 Pacific Avenue
Santa Cruz, CA


21



22



23



24

Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

7:00 PM-9:00 PM: INDY READS BOOKS
911 Massachusetts Ave
Indianapolis, IN


25

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

6:00 PM: UC IRVINE
Illuminations
Crystal Cove Auditorium
Irvine, CA


Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

7:00 PM: INDIANA UNIVERSITY
President's Hall
601 E Kirkwood Ave
Bloomington, IN


26

Rob Spillman
All Tomorrow's Parties

7:30 PM: POWELL'S BOOKS
2720 NW 29th Street
Portland, OR


Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

7:00 PM-8:45 PM: NEWPORT BEACH PUBLIC LIBRARY
1000 Avocado Ave
Newport Beach, CA


27



28

Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

7:45 AM-9:00 AM: WINTER INSTITUTE
Grand Hyatt Minneapolis
Nicollet Grand Ballroom
Minneapolis, MN


29



30



31



1



2

Emily Fridlund
History of Wolves

07:00 PM: BARNES & NOBLE UPPER WEST SIDE
2289 Broadway (at 82nd St.)
New York City


Rob Spillman
All Tomorrow's Parties

7:30 PM: GREENLIGHT BOOKSTORE
686 Fulton Street
Brooklyn, NY


Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

7:30 PM: CITY ARTS & LECTURES
1955 Sutter Street
San Francisco, CA


3

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

UC IRVINE
"Future of Truth" Conference
Irvine, CA


4

Emily Fridlund
History of Wolves

07:00 PM: NORTHSHIRE BOOKSTORE
4869 Main St.
Vermont


Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

6:00 PM: SECOND FLIGHT BOOKS
2200 Elmwood Ave
Suite D7
Lafayette, IN


Go
Webmaster: Michael Dudding
Graphic Design: Gretchen Mergenthaler
Development & Programming: Peter Grand, Inc.