Grove Press is a hardcover and paperback imprint of Grove Atlantic, Inc. Grove Press was founded on Grove Street in New York’s Greenwich Village in 1947. But its true beginning came in 1951 when twenty-eight-year-old Barney Rossett, Jr. bought the company and turned it into one of the most influential publishers of the 1950s, 60s, and 70s. From the outset, Rossett took chances: Grove published many of the Beats including William S. Burroughs, Jack Kerouac, and Allen Ginsberg. In addition, Grove Press became the preeminent publisher of twentieth-century drama in America, publishing the work of Samuel Beckett (Nobel Prize for Literature 1969), Bertold Brecht, Eugene Ionesco, David Mamet (Pulitzer Prize for Drama 1984), Harold Pinter (Nobel Prize for Literature 2005), Tom Stoppard, and many more. The press also introduced to American audiences the work of international authors such as Jorge Luis Borges, Mikhail Bulgakov, Marguerite Duras, Jean Genet, Pablo Neruda, Octavio Paz (Nobel Prize for Literature 1990), Kenzaburo Oe (Nobel Prize for Literature 1994), Elfriede Jelinek (Nobel Prize for Literature 2004), Alain Robbe-Grillet, and Juan Rulfo. In the late 1950s and early 1960s, Barney Rossett challenged the obscenity laws by publishing D. H. Lawrence’s Lady Chatterley’s Lover and then Henry Miller’s Tropic of Cancer. His landmark court victories changed the American cultural landscape. Grove Press went on to publish literary erotic classics like The Story of O and ground-breaking gay fiction like John Rechy’s City of Night, as well as the works of the Marquis de Sade. On the political front, Grove Press published classics that include Franz Fanon’s The Wretched of the Earth, The Autobiography of Malcolm X, and Che Guevara’s The Bolivian Diary, among many other titles. In 1986, Barney Rosset sold the company and the press became part of Grove Weidenfeld. In 1993 that company was merged with Atlantic Monthly Press to form Grove Atlantic, Inc.

Since 1993, Grove Press has been both a hardcover and paperback imprint of Grove Atlantic publishing fiction, drama, poetry, literature in translation, and general nonfiction. Authors and titles include Jon Lee Anderson’s Che Guevara: A Revolutionary Life, Robert Olen Butler’s A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain (Pulitzer Prize for Literature 1993), Kiran Desai’s Inheritance of Loss (Man Booker Prize 2006), Richard Flanagan’s Gould’s Book of Fish (Commonwealth Prize 2002), Ismail Kadare’s The Siege, Jerzy Kosinski’s Steps (National Book Award 1969), Jacqueline Susann’s Valley of the Dolls, Nick McDonell’s Twelve, Catherine Millet’s The Sexual Life of Catherine M., Pascal Mercier’s Night Train to Lisbon, Kay Ryan (Poet Laureate of the United States 2008/9) as well as Antonio Lobo Antunes, Will Self, Barry Hannah, Terry Southern, and many others.

Home
Ordering
Media / Review Copy
Author Tours
Catalogs
Booksellers
Reading Group Guides
Teachers / Desk Copy
Rights & Permissions
Contact Us
Barry Hannah Long, Last, Happy
Long, Last, Happy

“Barry Hannah is the best fiction writer to appear in the South since Flannery O’Connor.”
Larry Mcmurtry

“Barry Hannah is an original, and one of the most consistently exciting writers of the post-Faulkner generation.”
William Styron, Salon

Click here for more on Barry Hannah and Long, Last, Happy
Forty Thieves by Thomas Perry
Matterhorn by Karl Marlantes
 
Description 
Praise 
Excerpt 
Author 
Biography 
Awards 
Google Book Preview
Buy This Book
“Her description of life in the famous Allendale building . . . is delightful, as are her portraits of fellow musicians and her stories of life in the pit.” —Susan Salter Reynolds, Los Angeles Times
Mozart in the Jungle
Sex, Drugs, and Classical Music
By Blair Tindall
Grove Press
978-0-8021-4253-5 • $16.00 • Paperback • July 2006
Music (Classical)
In the tradition of Anthony Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential and Gelsey Kirkland’s Dancing on My Grave comes an insider’s look into the cloistered world of classical music.

From her debut recital at Carnegie Hall to performing with the orchestras of Les Misérables and Miss Saigon, oboist Blair Tindall has been playing classical music professionally for twenty-five years. She’s also lived the secret life of musicians who survive hand to mouth, trading sex and drugs for low-paying gigs and the promise of winning a rare symphony position or a lucrative solo recording contract. In Mozart in the Jungle, Tindall delves into her own life and the lives of the musicians and conductors who inhabit the insular world of classical music.

After having an affair with her forty-three-year-old teacher at the age of sixteen, Tindall graduates from the North Carolina School of the Arts to the backbiting New York classical music scene, a world where classical musicians trade sexual favors for plum jobs and assignments in musicals and orchestras across the city. Tindall and her fellow journeymen musicians often play drunk, high, or hopelessly hungover, live in decrepit apartments, and perform in hazardous conditions—in the cramped confines of a Broadway pit, the decibel level of one instrument is equal to the sound of a chain saw. Mozart in the Jungle offers a stark contrast between the rarefied experiences of overpaid classical musician superstars and those of the working-class musicians who schlep across the city from low-paying gig to low-paying gig, without health-care benefits or retirement plans. For lovers of classical music, Mozart in the Jungle is the first true, behind-the-scenes look at what goes on backstage and in the Broadway pit.

Visit the Mozart in the Jungle website.
<March 2017>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
26



27



28



1



2

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

7:00 PM: PASADENA ONCE CITY ONE STORY
All Saints Church
132 North Euclid
Pasadena, CA


Michael Knight
Eveningland

6:00 PM-7:30 PM: SQUARE BOOKS
160 Courthouse Square
Oxford, MS


3



4

Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

9:15 AM-9:55 AM: LITERARY WOMEN FESTIVAL OF WRITERS
Long Beach Convention Center
300 E. Ocean Blvd
Long Beach, CA


5



6

Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

7:30 PM: PITTSBURGH ARTS & LECTURES
Carnegie Music Hall
4400 Forbes Ave
Pittsburgh, PA


7

Michael Knight
Eveningland

6:00 PM-7:30 PM: UNION AVE BOOKS
517 Union Av
Knoxville, TN


8

Michael Knight
Eveningland

6:00 PM-7:00 PM: MALAPROP'S BOOKSTORE & CAFE
55 Haywood Street
Asheville, NC


9

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

7:00 PM-8:00 PM: UNIVERSITY OF UTAH
Salt Lake City, UT


10

Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

7:00 PM: LEWIS AND CLARK UNIVERSITY
Women's Studies Symposium
Agnes Flanagan Chapel
0615 SW Palatine Hill Road
Portland, OR


11

Thomas Perry
Old Man, The

TUCSON FESTIVAL OF BOOKS
Tucson, AZ


Michael Tolkin
NK3

11:30 AM-12:30 PM: TUCSON BOOK FESTIVAL
Apocalypse 101: How to Destroy the World
UA Mall Tent
Tucson, AZ


Michael Tolkin
NK3

4:00 PM-5:00 PM: TUCSON BOOK FESTIVAL
Screenwriting: Getting it Right
Student Union Ventana
Tucson, AZ


12

Michael Tolkin
NK3

10:00 AM-11:00 AM: TUCSON BOOK FESTIVAL
Writing Hurdles
Koffler Room 216
Tucson, AZ


13

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

7:15 PM: LOS ANGELES PUBLIC LIBRARY
630 West 5th St.
Los Angeles, CA


14

Michael Knight
Eveningland

6:00 PM-7:00 PM: PAGE & PALETTE
32 S. Section St.
Fairhope, AL


P. J. O'Rourke
How the Hell Did This Happen?

08:00 PM: 92 Y
1395 Lexington Avenue at 92nd St
Buttenwieser Hall
New York, NY


15

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

6:30 PM-9:00 PM: NBCC AWARD READINGS
New School Auditorium
66 West 12th Street
New York City


Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

7:00 PM: WOMEN & CHILDREN FIRST
In Conversation with Brittany Julious
5233 N. Clark St.
Chicago, IL


Michael Knight
Eveningland

4:00 PM-5:00 PM: ALABAMA BOOKSMITH
2626 19th Place
Homewood, AL


16

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

8:00 PM: 92ND STREET Y
Unterberg Poetry Center
1395 Lexington Ave
New York City


Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

7:00 PM-8:00 PM: TORONTO PUBLIC LIBRARY
Appel Salon
Toronto Reference Library
789 Yonge Street
Toronto, ON


Michael Knight
Eveningland

5:30 PM-6:30 PM: TURNROW BOOK COMPANY
304 Howard Street
Greenwood, MS


P. J. O'Rourke
How the Hell Did This Happen?

06:30 PM-08:30 PM: NATIONAL PRESS CLUB
529 14th Street NW
NPC conference rooms
Washington, DC


17

Michael Knight
Eveningland

5:00 PM-6:30 PM: LEMURIA BOOKSTORE
202 Banner Hall
4465 I-55 North
Jackson, MS


18



19



20



21

Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

7:00 PM: TRINITY UNIVERSITY
One Trinity Place
Ruth Taylor Recital Hall
San Antonio, TX


22

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

UNIVERSITY OF NORTH DAKOTA
Writer's Conference
Grand Forks, ND


Michael Knight
Eveningland

6:30 PM-7:30 PM: FOUNTAIN BOOKSTORE
1312 E. Cary Street
Richmond, VA


P. J. O'Rourke
How the Hell Did This Happen?

08:00 PM: LIVE TALKS
Ann and Jerry Moss Theatre, New Roads School
Herb Alpert Educational Village, 3131 Olympic Boul
Los Angeles, CA


23

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

7:30 PM: DENISON UNIVERSITY & COLUMBUS MUSEUM OF ART
Thurber House
Columbus, OH


Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

06:30 PM: ENOCH PRATT FREE LIBRARY
400 Cathedral St.,
Main Hall, first floor
Baltimore, MD


Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

11:00 AM-12:15 PM: ASSOC OF COLLEGE AND RESEARCH LIBRARIANS
Middle Keynote
Baltimore, MD


Michael Knight
Eveningland

02:00 PM-3:00 PM: VIRGINIA FESTIVAL OF THE BOOK
Virginia Foundation for the Humanities
145 Ednam Drive
Charlottesville, VA


Michael Tolkin
NK3

7:00 PM-8:00 PM: CHEVALIER'S BOOKS
126 N. Larchmont Blvd
Los Angeles, CA


24

Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

07:00 PM: FREE LIBRARY OF PHILADELPHIA
1901 Vine Street
Philadelphia, PA


25



26



27

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

3:00 PM: GEORGETOWN UNIV. HOTEL
3800 Reservoir Rd NW
Washington, DC


P. J. O'Rourke
How the Hell Did This Happen?

06:30 PM: COMMONWEALTH CLUB
555 Post St
San Fran/San Jose/Oakland, CA


28

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

7:30 PM: GEORGETOWN UNIVERSITY
Gaston Hall
3700 O St NW
Washington, DC


John Freeman
Freeman's: Home

05:00 PM: GEORGETOWN UNIVERSITY
The Global Soul Conference
Copley Formal Lounge
Washington, DC


29

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

7:00 PM-8:30 PM: LANNAN FOUNDATION
313 Read St
Santa Fe, NM


30

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

8:00 PM-9:00 PM: CLEMSON LITERARY FESTIVAL
An Evening with Viet Thanh Nguyen
Clemson University
Alumni Center
Clemson, SC


31



1



2



3



4

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

OCCIDENTAL COLLEGE
1600 Campus Road
Los Angeles


Michael Knight
Eveningland

7:30 PM: SPRING LITERARY FESTIVAL
UC Theater, 3rd floor of the A.K. Hinds University
Western Carolina University
Culhowee, NC


5

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

12:00 PM-01:00 PM: USC CENTER FOR PUBLIC DIPLOMACY
Annenberg Room 207
Los Angeles, CA


Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

08:00 PM: UNIVERSITY OF BUFFALO
venue tbd
Buffalo, NY


6

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

CSU MONTEREY BAY
Seaside, CA


7



8

Michael Knight
Eveningland

2:00 PM-3:00 PM: PARNASSUS BOOKSTORE
3900 Hillsboro Pike
Nashville, TN


Go
Webmaster: Michael Dudding
Graphic Design: Gretchen Mergenthaler
Development & Programming: Peter Grand, Inc.