Grove Press is a hardcover and paperback imprint of Grove Atlantic, Inc. Grove Press was founded on Grove Street in New York’s Greenwich Village in 1947. But its true beginning came in 1951 when twenty-eight-year-old Barney Rossett, Jr. bought the company and turned it into one of the most influential publishers of the 1950s, 60s, and 70s. From the outset, Rossett took chances: Grove published many of the Beats including William S. Burroughs, Jack Kerouac, and Allen Ginsberg. In addition, Grove Press became the preeminent publisher of twentieth-century drama in America, publishing the work of Samuel Beckett (Nobel Prize for Literature 1969), Bertold Brecht, Eugene Ionesco, David Mamet (Pulitzer Prize for Drama 1984), Harold Pinter (Nobel Prize for Literature 2005), Tom Stoppard, and many more. The press also introduced to American audiences the work of international authors such as Jorge Luis Borges, Mikhail Bulgakov, Marguerite Duras, Jean Genet, Pablo Neruda, Octavio Paz (Nobel Prize for Literature 1990), Kenzaburo Oe (Nobel Prize for Literature 1994), Elfriede Jelinek (Nobel Prize for Literature 2004), Alain Robbe-Grillet, and Juan Rulfo. In the late 1950s and early 1960s, Barney Rossett challenged the obscenity laws by publishing D. H. Lawrence’s Lady Chatterley’s Lover and then Henry Miller’s Tropic of Cancer. His landmark court victories changed the American cultural landscape. Grove Press went on to publish literary erotic classics like The Story of O and ground-breaking gay fiction like John Rechy’s City of Night, as well as the works of the Marquis de Sade. On the political front, Grove Press published classics that include Franz Fanon’s The Wretched of the Earth, The Autobiography of Malcolm X, and Che Guevara’s The Bolivian Diary, among many other titles. In 1986, Barney Rosset sold the company and the press became part of Grove Weidenfeld. In 1993 that company was merged with Atlantic Monthly Press to form Grove Atlantic, Inc.

Since 1993, Grove Press has been both a hardcover and paperback imprint of Grove Atlantic publishing fiction, drama, poetry, literature in translation, and general nonfiction. Authors and titles include Jon Lee Anderson’s Che Guevara: A Revolutionary Life, Robert Olen Butler’s A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain (Pulitzer Prize for Literature 1993), Kiran Desai’s Inheritance of Loss (Man Booker Prize 2006), Richard Flanagan’s Gould’s Book of Fish (Commonwealth Prize 2002), Ismail Kadare’s The Siege, Jerzy Kosinski’s Steps (National Book Award 1969), Jacqueline Susann’s Valley of the Dolls, Nick McDonell’s Twelve, Catherine Millet’s The Sexual Life of Catherine M., Pascal Mercier’s Night Train to Lisbon, Kay Ryan (Poet Laureate of the United States 2008/9) as well as Antonio Lobo Antunes, Will Self, Barry Hannah, Terry Southern, and many others.

Home
Ordering
Media / Review Copy
Author Tours
Catalogs
Booksellers
Reading Group Guides
Teachers / Desk Copy
Rights & Permissions
Contact Us
Barry Hannah Long, Last, Happy
Long, Last, Happy

“Barry Hannah is the best fiction writer to appear in the South since Flannery O’Connor.”
Larry Mcmurtry

“Barry Hannah is an original, and one of the most consistently exciting writers of the post-Faulkner generation.”
William Styron, Salon

Click here for more on Barry Hannah and Long, Last, Happy
Forty Thieves by Thomas Perry
Matterhorn by Karl Marlantes
 
Description 
Praise 
Excerpt 
Author 
Biography 
Awards 
Google Book Preview
Buy This Book
“Her description of life in the famous Allendale building . . . is delightful, as are her portraits of fellow musicians and her stories of life in the pit.” —Susan Salter Reynolds, Los Angeles Times
Mozart in the Jungle
Sex, Drugs, and Classical Music
By Blair Tindall
Grove Press
978-0-8021-4253-5 • $16.00 • Paperback • July 2006
Music (Classical)
In the tradition of Anthony Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential and Gelsey Kirkland’s Dancing on My Grave comes an insider’s look into the cloistered world of classical music.

From her debut recital at Carnegie Hall to performing with the orchestras of Les Misérables and Miss Saigon, oboist Blair Tindall has been playing classical music professionally for twenty-five years. She’s also lived the secret life of musicians who survive hand to mouth, trading sex and drugs for low-paying gigs and the promise of winning a rare symphony position or a lucrative solo recording contract. In Mozart in the Jungle, Tindall delves into her own life and the lives of the musicians and conductors who inhabit the insular world of classical music.

After having an affair with her forty-three-year-old teacher at the age of sixteen, Tindall graduates from the North Carolina School of the Arts to the backbiting New York classical music scene, a world where classical musicians trade sexual favors for plum jobs and assignments in musicals and orchestras across the city. Tindall and her fellow journeymen musicians often play drunk, high, or hopelessly hungover, live in decrepit apartments, and perform in hazardous conditions—in the cramped confines of a Broadway pit, the decibel level of one instrument is equal to the sound of a chain saw. Mozart in the Jungle offers a stark contrast between the rarefied experiences of overpaid classical musician superstars and those of the working-class musicians who schlep across the city from low-paying gig to low-paying gig, without health-care benefits or retirement plans. For lovers of classical music, Mozart in the Jungle is the first true, behind-the-scenes look at what goes on backstage and in the Broadway pit.

Visit the Mozart in the Jungle website.
<February 2017>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
29



30



31



1



2

Emily Fridlund
History of Wolves

07:00 PM: BARNES & NOBLE UPPER WEST SIDE
2289 Broadway (at 82nd St.)
New York City


Rob Spillman
All Tomorrow's Parties

7:30 PM: GREENLIGHT BOOKSTORE
686 Fulton Street
Brooklyn, NY


Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

7:30 PM: CITY ARTS & LECTURES
1955 Sutter Street
San Francisco, CA


3

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

5:30 PM-6:30 PM: UC IRVINE
"Future of Truth" Conference
EDU 1111, Berkeley Place
School of Law
Irvine, CA


4

Emily Fridlund
History of Wolves

07:00 PM: NORTHSHIRE BOOKSTORE
4869 Main St.
Vermont


Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

6:00 PM: SECOND FLIGHT BOOKS
2200 Elmwood Ave
Suite D7
Lafayette, IN


5



6

Michael Tolkin
NK3

7:30 PM-9:00 PM: WRITERS BLOC SERIES
353 South Swall Drive
Los Angeles, CA


7

Rob Spillman
All Tomorrow's Parties

8:00 PM: GETTYSBURG COLLEGE
Lyceum
Gettysburg, PA


Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

7:30 PM: SKYLIGHT BOOKS
1818 North Vermont Ave.
Los Angeles, CA


8



9

Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

3:00 PM-4:15 PM: AWP
Beyond the Deadline
Marriott Marquis, Meeting Level Two
Salon 5
Washington, DC


10

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

8:30 PM-10:00 PM: AWP
Keynote Panel - Distant Lands Intimate Voices
Convention Center, Level 3
Ballroom C
Washington, DC


Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

12:00 PM-1:15 PM: AWP
Raising Hell
DC Convention Center
Level 2, Room 202A
Washington, DC


Sabina Murray
Valiant Gentlemen

08:30 PM: AWP
Keynote panel with Viet Thanh Nguyen and Patricia
Washington, DC


11

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

7:30 PM: POLITICS AND PROSE BOOKSTORE
Off-site location: St. Paul's Church
5015 Connecticut Ave NW
Washington, DC


Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

3:00 PM-4:15 PM: AWP
The Art of War: The Power & Role of the Writer...
Washington Convention Center
Room 202A, Level Two
Washington, DC


Scott Price
Playing Through the Whistle

4:00 PM: QUAIL RIDGE BOOKS
4209-100 Lassiter Mill Road
Raleigh, NC


Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

7:30 PM: POLITICS AND PROSE
5015 Connecticut Ave NW
Washington, DC


Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

3:00 PM-4:15 PM: AWP
I Did It My Way
DC Convention Center
Level Two, 204AB
Washington, DC


12



13

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

4:00 PM: UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA
Betty Jean Craige Lecture
The Chapel
Athens, GA


14

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

4:00 PM: UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA
Panel Discussion on Transitional Justice
Rusk Center
Athens, GA


Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

7:00 PM: BROWN UNIVERSITY
Salomon 101
Providence, RI


Michael Tolkin
NK3

4:30 PM-5:30 PM: UCR WRITERS WEEK
University of CA, Riverside
Room 1128 INTN
Riverside, CA


15

Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

7:00 PM: WILLIAMS COLLEGE
Williamstown, MA


16

Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

7:00 PM: MOUNT HOLYOKE
Gamble Auditorium, Art
South Hadley, MA


17

Emily Fridlund
History of Wolves

07:00 PM: LITERATI BOOKSTORE
124 East Washington Street
Michigan


Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

07:00 PM: PORTER SQUARE BOOKS
Off-Site Location:
25 White Street
Boston/Cambridge, MA


18



19



20

Emily Fridlund
History of Wolves

07:00 PM: BOOK PASSAGE
51 Tamal Vista Blvd.
San Fran/San Jose/Oakland, CA


21

Rob Spillman
All Tomorrow's Parties

7:30 PM: POINT STREET READING SERIES
The Village
373 Richmond Street
Providence, RI


Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

7:00 PM: OC REGISTER BOOK CLUB
Frida Cinema
305 E 4th St
Orange County, CA


Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

7:30 PM: SAN FRANCISCO ARTS & LECTURES
In conversation with Anna Sale
Nourse Theater
275 Hayes Street
San Francisco, CA


22

Emily Fridlund
History of Wolves

07:30 PM: SKYLIGHT BOOKS
1818 North Vermont Ave.
Los Angeles, CA


Rob Spillman
All Tomorrow's Parties

7:00 PM: PAPERCUTS, J.P.
at La Rana Rossa
154 Green St
Boston/Cambridge, MA


Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

7:30 PM: SEATTLE ARTS & LECTURES
Town Hall
1119 8th Ave
Seattle, WA


23

Emily Fridlund
History of Wolves

07:00 PM: ELLIOTT BAY BOOK COMPANY
1521 Tenth Ave
Seattle, WA


Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

7:30 PM: POWELL'S BOOKS
2720 NW 29th Street
Portland, OR


Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

METROPOLITAN STATE UNIVERSITY
Denver, CO


24

Emily Fridlund
History of Wolves

07:30 PM: POWELL'S BOOKS
1005 W. Burnside St
Portland, OR


Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

7:00 PM: SEATTLE PUBLIC LIBRARY
Microsoft Auditorium
1000 Fourth Ave
Seattle, WA


Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

7:00 PM: TATTERED COVER BOOKSTORE
2526 East Colfax Avenue
Denver, CO


25



26



27



28



1



2

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

7:00 PM: PASADENA ONCE CITY ONE STORY
All Saints Church
132 North Euclid
Pasadena, CA


Michael Knight
Eveningland

6:00 PM-7:30 PM: SQUARE BOOKS
160 Courthouse Square
Oxford, MS


3



4

Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

9:15 AM-9:55 AM: LITERARY WOMEN FESTIVAL OF WRITERS
Long Beach Convention Center
300 E. Ocean Blvd
Long Beach, CA


5



6

Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

7:00 PM: PITTSBURGH ARTS & LECTURES
Carnegie Music Hall
4400 Forbes Ave
Pittsburgh, PA


7

Michael Knight
Eveningland

6:00 PM-7:30 PM: UNION AVE BOOKS
517 Union Av
Knoxville, TN


8

Michael Knight
Eveningland

6:00 PM-7:00 PM: MALAPROP'S BOOKSTORE & CAFE
55 Haywood Street
Asheville, NC


9



10

Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

LEWIS AND CLARK UNIVERSITY
Women's Studies Symposium
Portland, OR


11

Thomas Perry
Old Man, The

TUCSON FESTIVAL OF BOOKS
Tucson, AZ


Michael Tolkin
NK3

11:30 AM-12:30 PM: TUCSON BOOK FESTIVAL
Apocalypse 101: How to Destroy the World
UA Mall Tent
Tucson, AZ


Michael Tolkin
NK3

4:00 PM-5:00 PM: TUCSON BOOK FESTIVAL
Screenwriting: Getting it Right
Student Union Ventana
Tucson, AZ


Go
Webmaster: Michael Dudding
Graphic Design: Gretchen Mergenthaler
Development & Programming: Peter Grand, Inc.