Grove Press is a hardcover and paperback imprint of Grove Atlantic, Inc. Grove Press was founded on Grove Street in New York’s Greenwich Village in 1947. But its true beginning came in 1951 when twenty-eight-year-old Barney Rossett, Jr. bought the company and turned it into one of the most influential publishers of the 1950s, 60s, and 70s. From the outset, Rossett took chances: Grove published many of the Beats including William S. Burroughs, Jack Kerouac, and Allen Ginsberg. In addition, Grove Press became the preeminent publisher of twentieth-century drama in America, publishing the work of Samuel Beckett (Nobel Prize for Literature 1969), Bertold Brecht, Eugene Ionesco, David Mamet (Pulitzer Prize for Drama 1984), Harold Pinter (Nobel Prize for Literature 2005), Tom Stoppard, and many more. The press also introduced to American audiences the work of international authors such as Jorge Luis Borges, Mikhail Bulgakov, Marguerite Duras, Jean Genet, Pablo Neruda, Octavio Paz (Nobel Prize for Literature 1990), Kenzaburo Oe (Nobel Prize for Literature 1994), Elfriede Jelinek (Nobel Prize for Literature 2004), Alain Robbe-Grillet, and Juan Rulfo. In the late 1950s and early 1960s, Barney Rossett challenged the obscenity laws by publishing D. H. Lawrence’s Lady Chatterley’s Lover and then Henry Miller’s Tropic of Cancer. His landmark court victories changed the American cultural landscape. Grove Press went on to publish literary erotic classics like The Story of O and ground-breaking gay fiction like John Rechy’s City of Night, as well as the works of the Marquis de Sade. On the political front, Grove Press published classics that include Franz Fanon’s The Wretched of the Earth, The Autobiography of Malcolm X, and Che Guevara’s The Bolivian Diary, among many other titles. In 1986, Barney Rosset sold the company and the press became part of Grove Weidenfeld. In 1993 that company was merged with Atlantic Monthly Press to form Grove Atlantic, Inc.

Since 1993, Grove Press has been both a hardcover and paperback imprint of Grove Atlantic publishing fiction, drama, poetry, literature in translation, and general nonfiction. Authors and titles include Jon Lee Anderson’s Che Guevara: A Revolutionary Life, Robert Olen Butler’s A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain (Pulitzer Prize for Literature 1993), Kiran Desai’s Inheritance of Loss (Man Booker Prize 2006), Richard Flanagan’s Gould’s Book of Fish (Commonwealth Prize 2002), Ismail Kadare’s The Siege, Jerzy Kosinski’s Steps (National Book Award 1969), Jacqueline Susann’s Valley of the Dolls, Nick McDonell’s Twelve, Catherine Millet’s The Sexual Life of Catherine M., Pascal Mercier’s Night Train to Lisbon, Kay Ryan (Poet Laureate of the United States 2008/9) as well as Antonio Lobo Antunes, Will Self, Barry Hannah, Terry Southern, and many others.

Home
Ordering
Media / Review Copy
Author Tours
Catalogs
Booksellers
Reading Group Guides
Teachers / Desk Copy
Rights & Permissions
Contact Us
Barry Hannah Long, Last, Happy
Long, Last, Happy

“Barry Hannah is the best fiction writer to appear in the South since Flannery O’Connor.”
Larry Mcmurtry

“Barry Hannah is an original, and one of the most consistently exciting writers of the post-Faulkner generation.”
William Styron, Salon

Click here for more on Barry Hannah and Long, Last, Happy
Forty Thieves by Thomas Perry
Matterhorn by Karl Marlantes
 
Description 
Praise 
Excerpt 
Author 
Biography 
Awards 
Google Book Preview
Buy This Book
Also By This Author

The Spoils By Jesse Eisenberg

The Revisionist By Jesse Eisenberg
The remarkable debut by the Academy Award–nominated actor, famous for his roles in The Social Network and other films, a collection of hilarious, moving, and highly inventive stories that explore the ridiculousness of modern-day life, in the tradition of Woody Allen, Simon Rich, and David Sedaris

Bream Gives Me Hiccups
By Jesse Eisenberg
Grove Press
978-0-8021-2532-3 • $16.00 • Paperback • Aug. 2016
Fiction
“Eisenberg is truly a talented writer. . . Hilarious and poignant.”—Entertainment Weekly

“Eisenberg’s 28 stories in Bream Gives Me Hiccups range from the diary of a nine-year-old food critic to letters about stolen ramen . . . Eisenberg’s characters are lively, and his awareness of universal neuroses (yours and his alike) shows he’s more than a hobbyist.”—Time (Best of Fall Books)

 
 
Listen to Jesse Eisenberg Interviewed on NPR's All Things Considered

One of USA Today’s Weekend Picks for Book Lovers

One of People Magazine’s Best New Books

Bream Gives Me Hiccups: And Other Stories is the whip-smart fiction debut of Academy Award–nominated actor Jesse Eisenberg. Known for his iconic film roles but also for his regular pieces in the New Yorker and his two critically acclaimed plays, Eisenberg is an emerging literary voice.   

Taking its title from a group of stories that begin the book, Bream Gives Me Hiccups moves from contemporary L.A. to the dorm rooms of an American college to ancient Pompeii, throwing the reader into a universe of social misfits, reimagined scenes from history, and ridiculous overreactions. In one piece, a tense email exchange between a young man and his girlfriend is taken over by his sister, who is obsessed with the Bosnian genocide (The situation reminds me of a little historical blip called the Karaðorðevo agreement); in another, a college freshman forced to live with a roommate is stunned when one of her ramen packets goes missing (she didn’t have “one” of my ramens. She had a chicken ramen); in another piece, Alexander Graham Bell has teething problems with his invention (I’ve been calling Mabel all day, she doesn’t pick up! Yes, of course I dialed the right number—2!).      

United by Eisenberg’s gift for humor and character, and grouped into chapters that open with illustrations by award-winning cartoonist Jean Jullien, the witty pieces collected in Bream Gives Me Hiccups explore the various insanities of the modern world, and mark the arrival of a fantastically funny, self-ironic, and original voice.



 

<May 2017>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
30



1

Karolina Ramqvist
White City, The

06:30 PM: WETRANSFER & MCSWEEN
61 Local
61 Bergen Street
Brooklyn, NY


2

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

WILLIAMS COLLEGE
Williamstown, MA


John Freeman
Freeman's: Home

7:30 PM: GREENLIGHT BOOKSTORE
Prospect Lefferts Gardens Location
632 Flatbush Ave (at Fenimore)
Brooklyn, NY


Karolina Ramqvist
White City, The

07:00 PM: PEN WORLD VOICES FESTIVAL
Girl Powered Fiction panel
Shakespeare & Co
939 Lexington Ave
New York, NY


Dominic Dromgoole
Hamlet Globe to Globe

07:30 PM: PEN WORLD VOICES
Roulette
509 Atlantic Ave,
Brooklyn, NY


3

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

7:00 PM-8:30 PM: ARLINGTON PUBLIC LIBRARY
Central Library
1015 N Quincy Street
Arlington, VA


4

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

7:00 PM: CENTER FOR FICTION
Co-Sponsored by PEN World Voices
17 E. 47th Street
New York City


Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

2:00 PM-4:00 PM: BORO OF MANHATTAN COMM COLLEGE
The Writer in the World
BMCC Tribeca Performing Arts Center
199 Chambers St. Theater 2
New York City


Patrick O'Donnell
Washington's Immortals

5:30 PM: MARYLAND HISTORICAL SOCIETY
201 West Monument Street
Baltimore, MD


Karolina Ramqvist
White City, The

06:30 PM: PEN WORLD VOICES
Literary Quest: Westbeth Edition
Westbeth, 55 Bethune St
New York, NY


5

John Freeman
Freeman's: Home

9:00 AM: GRUB STREET
Muse and the Marketplace
Boston Park Plaza Hotel Grand Ballroom
50 Park Plaza at Arlington Street
Boston, MA


6

Charmaine Craig
Miss Burma

10:00 AM-01:00 PM: CORONA PUBLIC LIBRARY
650 S. Main Street
Corona, CA


7

Charmaine Craig
Miss Burma

4:00 PM: LAGUNA BEACH BOOKS
1200 South Coast Highway
Laguna Beach, CA


8



9



10

Charmaine Craig
Miss Burma

8:00 PM-9:30 PM: LIVE TALKS LA
William Turner Gallery
Bergamot Arts Station
2525 Michigan Avenue
Santa Monica, CA


11



12



13



14



15

Charmaine Craig
Miss Burma

7:00 PM-8:00 PM: BROOKLINE BOOKSMITH
279 Harvard St.
Boston/Cambridge, MA


16

Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

AUCKLAND WRITERS FESTIVAL
May 16-21
Auckland, NZ


Charmaine Craig
Miss Burma

6:30 PM-8:00 PM: BUSBOYS & POETS
2021 14th St NW
Washington, DC


17

Viet Thanh Nguyen
Refugees, The

8:00 PM-10:00 PM: SKIRBALL CENTER
National Book Foundation
2701 N Sepulveda Blvd
Los Angeles, CA


Charmaine Craig
Miss Burma

7:00 PM: ASIAN AMERICAN WRITERS' WORKSHOP
110-112 W 27th Street, Sixth Floor
New York City


18



19



20



21



22



23



24

Charmaine Craig
Miss Burma

7:30 PM: LAST BOOKSTORE
453 South Spring Street
Ground Floor
Los Angeles, CA


25



26



27



28



29



30



31

Charmaine Craig
Miss Burma

7:00 PM-8:00 PM: ELLIOTT BAY BOOK COMPANY
1521 Tenth Ave
Seattle, WA


1

Charmaine Craig
Miss Burma

7:00 PM-8:00 PM: BOOK PASSAGE
51 Tamal Vista Blvd.
Corte Madera, CA


2

Charmaine Craig
Miss Burma

6:00 PM: BOOKS, INC.
1375 Burlingame Ave
Burlingame, CA


3



4

Roxane Gay
Difficult Women

BAY AREA BOOK FEST
1569 Solano Ave #635
Berkeley, CA


Charmaine Craig
Miss Burma

3:30 PM-5:00 PM: KANSAS CITY PUBLIC LIBRARY
South Branch Library
3104 Strong Avenue
Kansas City, KS


Olivia Clare
Disasters in the First World

6:00 PM: BRAZOS BOOKSTORE
2421 Bissonnet
Houston, TX


5

Charmaine Craig
Miss Burma

12:30 PM-01:30 PM: UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA ST. PAUL
1404 Gortner Avenue
Peters Hall, Room 5
St. Paul, MN


6

Charmaine Craig
Miss Burma

7:00 PM: COMMON GOOD BOOKS
38 S. Snelling Avenue
St. Paul, MN


7



8

Bella Pollen
Meet Me in the In-Between

06:30 PM: EAST CITY BOOKSHOP
645 Pennsylvania Ave SE #100
Washington, DC


9



10



Go
Webmaster: Michael Dudding
Graphic Design: Gretchen Mergenthaler
Development & Programming: Peter Grand, Inc.